Skip links

PQ Roll out and Webinar

The new PQ system developed by Build UK, with the support of CECA, is now fully up and running following the introduction of data sharing, and its rollout will significantly reduce the duplication of time, effort and resources that is costing the industry up to £1 billion a year. Major contractors and clients ‐ including Balfour Beatty, Costain, HS2, Mace, Multiplex and Skanska ‐ have all adopted the Common Assessment Standard (CAS) meaning that members of their supply chains will need to obtain just one certification to tender for work with them.

The Common Assessment Standard, which is endorsed by the CLC, is an industry‐agreed question set with two levels of certification ‐ desktop and site‐based ‐ and companies can apply to any one of three Recognised Assessment Bodies ‐ Achilles, CHAS or Constructionline ‐ to get the appropriate level dependent upon their trade, size and requirements of their clients. Further information can be found in our latest PQ update.

BCSA is aware that there unfortunately is still a number of main contractors that insist on their specific PQ Assessment providers are used and will keep members informed as more align themselves to the Common Assessment Standard.

Build UK have kindly offered to present the information on the CAS to BCSA members on Tuesday 13th April at 13:00 hrs.

To register for the webinar please email

Peter Walker

BCSA Director Health, Safety and Training